Inglot, Personal/Info

My take on a Maleficent Collection with Inglot

Okay I figure I can post this because I see no reason why I shouldn’t be able to (if Macy’s has a problem with this, I’ll obviously delete it) but I have been hired by Macy’s for INGLOT!!!!! I put in notice at my current food service job and I’ll be starting in a little more than a week! I’m going to be working at the Inglot quasi-counter full time all summer (switching to part time when classes start again in September). I am beyond excited and it feels like the perfect match for me.

Okay let’s get to it, MAC released a Maleficent collection the other day inspired by the new Disney movie starring Angelina Jolie, it looks like this:

MAC-Maleficent-collection-2

So, a lot of people are upset, including me. I feel that the colors don’t reflect what I’ve seen of the movie. The movie isn’t colorful, but it isn’t brown either! I had high hopes for this collection and I’m a little bummed out with the direction they chose.

*EDIT: On further viewing of the trailer, and hearing other people’s opinions (I posted my little collection on Reddit and got a lot of great feedback) I’ve realized why MAC decided to go in this direction. This makeup is great if you want to create the look that Jolie rocks in the movie, sculpted cheekbones, contoured eyes, and red lips. I, however, am still disappointed. I really wanted them to do a collection inspired by the movie AND the character, dark and green and smokey.

So, I’ve been exploring the Inglot site a lot over the past few days because I want to know as much as possible before I start. If you don’t already know, they’re most known for their Freedom System palettes. You choose a template, and fill the spaces with eyeshadows, blushes, powders, or lipsticks, it’s amazing. A lot of people on Reddit have been making palettes inspired by things like Game of Thrones, Futurama, and of course, Disney/Pixar. I love the color selection and creative possibilities that Inglot provides, they’re a great company.

So, I was frustrated with the selection (and prices, YIKES) of the MAC collection, so I MADE MY OWN. I feel so creative!

1So I’m calling this the “Lil’ Bit of Everything” palette, because it has a powder, a blush (for contouring), a lipstick and an eyeshadow. It’s the priciest of the palettes, but it has the most product. You can change the color of the powder and blush to compliment your skintone.

2This is the lipstick mixing palette. None of the colors provided struck me super hard as being “Maleficent-y” except for #11 (the middle color) so I decided that since the lipsticks were in pan form they’d be great for mixing to get the perfect evil shade.

3And the star of the show, the eyeshadow quad. I’m calling this one, “The Witches Brew” because it’s so HER! I compared a ton of purples and greens and decided these were the best (I admit I used the animated film as inspiration a bit more than the upcoming film) for the character. I added white for highlighting and dramatic contrast. I also decided against black and went for a cool toned shimmery brown because it’s a gorgeous color and a bit more wearable/better for blending.

 

I had a lot of fun making these, I added a category for the blog for Inglot, I think I’m going to make Inglot palettes a regular feature. Please give me inspiration ideas in the comments! Any sort of media or anything really, I’m thinking of doing a Simpsons collection (MAC is doing one too, but I expect it to be awesome!). Thanks for reading guys, ❤

Standard

5 thoughts on “My take on a Maleficent Collection with Inglot

  1. Congrats on your new job! I was disappointed with the MAC collection as well 😦 I like the eyeshadow quad you created..The witches brew sounds like a cool name too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Why the MAC Maleficent Collection bombed... | Xoxo Emmy

Leave a comment